TX Boost - шаблон joomla Скрипты

Kelly Claims Awards Night Spoils

Youngster Aaron Kelly last Saturday night came away with the 2017-18 season’s biggest prize – the Everyday Finance Solutions Queensland Club Championship – for the Queensland Lightning Sprints Racing Association at their awards night.

In what has been an encouraging season for the Lightning Sprint class in the state of Queensland, which saw most of the race meetings fought out at Brisbane’s Archerfield Speedway, and selected race meetings at Toowoomba’s Hi-Tec Oils Speedway and a return to Kingaroy Speedway.

Leading the way in the overall Queensland Club Championship, which was supported by Everyday Finance Solutions, was Kelly, aged 18, who has just completed his first full season in the Lightning Sprint Class. Winning two feature races and scoring numerous minor podium finishes throughout the season, the third-generation racer was one of the leading contenders throughout the season. Current and two-time Queensland Champion Keith Blatch and Jeremy Hassell joined Kelly on the podium in second and third place respectively. Such was the consistency of the three drivers, the A Grade Championship order was identical.

31 7 2018 A Grade Club Championship

The B Grade Championship saw Andrew Sparks grab the point standings win ahead of Darren Baldwin and Jayden Mathers. It was a particularly good night for Sparks as he also took home the Most Improved Driver award and the well-deserved Club Person of the Year.

31 7 2018 B Grade Championship

Other winners during the night included Keith Blatch (Driver’s Driver), Darren Baldwin (Rookie of the Year), David Van Vegchel (Best Presented Car), Garry Thorne and Laurie Deegan (joint Encouragement Award winners) and Jeremy Beer and Jayden Mathers (joint Wings Award winners).

Appreciation Awards were presented to Ron Eager and Alan Lendrum, Alan Peters from Everyday Finance Solutions and Jason Rae and John McDonald from Stockmans Civil and Plant were Sponsorship Appreciation Awards recipients.

Special thanks must also go out to QLSRA president Blatch for his efforts in planning the presentation night, along with Dave Fanning, a two-time Australian Lightning Sprint Champion, for being the night’s emcee.

31 7 2018 Keith Blatch

The 2018-19 season schedule has begun to take shape, with the first event to blast off at Kingaroy Speedway on the Saturday night of September 22.

To find out more about the Queensland Lightning Sprints, visit their website www.queenslandlightningsprints.com or FOLLOW them on Facebook by searching Queensland Lightning Sprints.